The top three nominees for the 2021/22 UEFA Men’s Player of the Year award have been announced

Karim BenzemaThibaut Courtois and Kevin De Bruyne are the first three nominees for the UEFA Men’s Player of the Year 2021/22 award.

The winner will be named, along with the UEFA Men’s Coach of the Year and the UEFA Women’s Player and Coach of the Year, during the UEFA Champions League 2022/23 group stage draw ceremony in Istanbul on Thursday 25 August.

Carlo Ancelotti, Josep Guardiola and Jurgen Klopp are the three nominees for the UEFA Men’s Coach of the Year 2021/22 award.

UEFA Men’s Player of the Year nominees

Karim Benzema (Real Madrid and France)

The French striker was named UEFA Champions League Player of the Season 2021/22 after leading Real Madrid to a record 14th European crown.

His final tally of 15 goals earned him top spot in the competition’s scoring charts.

Thibaut Courtois (Real Madrid and Belgium)

The goalkeeper, who also won LaLiga with Real Madrid, was player of the match in the Champions League final after making several impressive saves to deny Liverpool in Paris, notably from Sadio Mane and Mohamed Salah.

Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City and Belgium)

The midfielder is in the top three for the third successive season.

He was named as the Premier League Player of the Season after guiding City to another domestic title, his fourth during his seven seasons at the club.

The rest of the top 15 players

4. Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich, now Barcelona and Poland) – 54 points

5. Luka Modric (Real Madrid & Croatia) – 52 points

6. Sadio Mane (Liverpool, now Bayern Munich & Senegal) – 51 points

7. Mohamed Salah (Liverpool & Egypt) – 46 points

8. Kylian Mbappe (PSG & France) – 25 points

9. Vinicius Junior (Real Madrid & Brazil) – 21 points

10. Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool & Netherlands) – 19 points

11. Bernardo Silva (Manchester City & Portugal) – 7 points

12. Filip Kostic (Eintracht Frankfurt & Serbia) – 7 points

13. Lorenzo Pellegrini (Roma & Italy) – 5 points

14. Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool & England) – 2 points

15. Fabinho (Liverpool & Brazil) – 1 point

UEFA Men’s Coach of the Year nominees

Carlo Ancelotti (Real Madrid)

The Italian returned to the club last summer and won LaLiga before becoming the first coach to win the European Cup/Champions League for a fourth time after leading Madrid to glory in the 2022 final in Paris.

Josep Guardiola (Manchester City)

The 51-year-old Spanish manager won four Premier League titles in his last five seasons in charge of City, his side seemingly destined for a second successive Champions League final until a dramatic turnaround in Madrid.

Jurgen Klopp (Liverpool)

The German manager had his team dreaming of a quadruple until the final stages of the season, although they would eventually only lift the FA Cup and League Cup in England and finishing runners-up in the Premier League and Champions League.